DIY Map Painting

I got a request from over on this post to share a How To on my Map Painting. I have a huge love for globes and geography and I’ve always wanted a modern map but never was able to find one. So i painted it!

The blue/green background was left over test paint that i decided against using in my bedroom.

And here are the tools i used. please dont judge…

Yes kids. Its true. i painted the whole thing with a paint pen. AND this canvas was by no means tiny…. at  24 x 36 you would think I’d go through 12 paint pens to get all of it (dang russia!) but no! Just one… and i’ve used it on other projects since! I will be honest, it took me quite a while, but once i finished all the coast lines, i considered going and picking up some silver paint but i was worried the color wouldnt match and then it would just look odd. Plus, i’m stubborn! Once i get something started, I’m determined to finish it there and then without a craft store stop in between. So rather than call me “impatient” and slightly ridiculous… lets just stick with determined and perfectionistic.

There is a bit of a downside too, folks… to get the outline with the sharpie…. i used a projector. Duh da DUH DAAAAaaAaA. Sorry guys… its true. But i did find this little guy on The O for only $52.58 (is that a random # or what?):

Or throw down a little more coin with this beauty:

Isn’t is so cute?! You could just throw that sucker in your pocket!

But i do think a projector is a good investment! I also painted this stud with it:

So theres unlimited numbers of projects you could accomplish with one of these guys… PLUS: instant big screen everywhere you go! Anyway… here is some more detail shots of it:

I almost forgot! I picked silver because i really wanted to have some depth to it… its interesting – it really does look like the water is deeper than the land… it just really POPS!

Also, in this shot you can really see the texture to the piece –  when i painted on the teal background, i laid it on pretty thick and well… i finger painted : )  My roommate walked in and looked at me like i was crazy with all that paint covering my hands. Let me tell you, that was super fun! Plus i think it adds just a little bit more depth and dimension to it! Till next time!

-Rach

5 responses

  1. Thanks for posting the how-to. I must confess that I don’t have much experience working with a paint pen. How long did it take to shade in the entire map?

    I also love the texture you created. Finger painting huh? Who knew. Simple…yet effective.

  2. Pingback: Drink and Draw* | Rad Design

Leave a Reply

